Editorial Board

Editor-in-Chief

Ugo Carraro
Department of Neurorehabilitation, I.R.C.C.S., Fondazione Ospedale San Camillo
Venezia-Lido, Italy
E-mail: ugo.carraro@unipd.it

Prof. Ugo Carraro is a Scientific Consultant at IRRCS Fondazione Ospedale San Camillo, Venice-Lido, Italy, and Senior Scholar of Padua University, Italy. There, he worked as Professor of General Pathology, Faculty of Medicine, and as Founder and Principal Investigator of the Laboratory of Translational Myology of the Interdepartmental Research Center of Myology – CIR-Myo. Recipient of many National and International Grants, Prof. Carraro is a world-class leader in molecular and structural analyses of skeletal muscle. He developed bi-dimensional gel electrophoresis for myosin light chains, in particular the embryonic isoform, and was the first to separate myosin heavy chain isoforms of mammal muscles. He discovered the long-term potential of denervated muscle to survive denervation by non-compensatory myofiber regeneration and the positive effects of sport life-style on reinnervation of old muscles. Expert of histochemical and ultrastructural morphometry of human skeletal muscle biopsies, he is applying his expertise in translational myology approaches by analyses of denervation-reinnervation and aged skeletal muscles. His main research interests are: basics of muscle plasticity and their applications to medical research (translational myology) in: i) functional electrical stimulation of denervated human muscle; ii) role of apoptosis and regenerative myogenesis in exercise-induced muscle damage. Prof. Carraro is Founder and Editor-in-Chief of the European Journal of Translational Myology (EJTM), previously known as Basic Applied Myology (BAM).

Section Editors

Myology Reviews

Sergio Adamo
Department of Anatomy, Histology, Forensic Medicine and Orthopedics, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
E-mail: sergio.adamo@uniroma1.it

Muscle Genetics

Corrado Angelini
Department of Neurorehabilitation, I.R.C.C.S, Fondazione Ospedale San Camillo, Venezia-Lido, Italy
E-mail: corrado.angelini@unipd.it

Daniela Tavian
Department of Psychology, Catholic University of the Sacred Heart, Milan, Italy
E-mail: daniela.tavian@unicatt.it

Muscle Epigenetics

Viviana Moresi
Department of Anatomy, Histology, Forensic Medicine and Orthopedics, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
E-mail: Viviana.moresi@uniroma1.it

Davide Gabellini
Division of Genetics and Cell Biology, San Raffaele Scientific Institute, Milan, Italy
E-mail: gabellini.davide@hsr.it

Molecular Myology

Antonio Musarò
Department of Anatomy, Histology, Forensic Medicine and Orthopedics, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
E-mail: antonio.musaro@uniroma1.it

Marco Sandri
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: marco.sandri@unipd.it

Cellular Myology

Dario Coletti
Department of Anatomy, Histology, Forensic Medicine and Orthopedics, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
E-mail: dario.coletti@uniroma1.it

Sandra Zampieri
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: sanzamp@unipd.it

Physiology of Muscle and Mobility

Jonathan C. Jarvis
School of Sport and Exercise Sciences, Liverpool John Moores University, UK
E-mail: J.C.Jarvis@ljmu.ac.uk

Carlo Reggiani
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: carlo.reggiani@unipd.it

Strength and Conditioning

Pedro E. Alcaraz
UCAM Research Center of High Performance Sport, San Antonio Catholic University of Murcia, Murcia, Spain
E-mail: palcaraz@ucam.edu

Paulo Gentil
College of Physical Education and Dance, Federal University of Goias, Golania, Brazil
E-mail: paulogentil@hotmail.com

Antonio Paoli
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: antonio.paoli@unipd.it

Physical Exercise, Muscle and Health

Antonino Bianco
Department of Psychology, Educational Science, Human Movement, University of Palermo, Italy
E-mail: antonino.bianco@unipa.it

Tatiana Moro
Department of Nutrition and Metabolism, University of Texas Medical Branch, USA
E-mail: tamoro@utmb.edu

Paula Tavares
Department of Sport Sciences and Physical Education, University of Coimbra, Portugal
E-mail: tavaresc.paula@gmail.com

Biomedical Engineering for Translational Myology

Christine Azevedo Coste
INRIA, LIRMM, Montpellier, France
E-mail: christine.azevedo@inria.fr

Paolo Gargiulo
Department of Research and Development, Landspitali University Hospital, Reykjavik, Iceland
E-mail: paologar@landspitali.is

Winfried Mayr
Medical University of Vienna, Center for Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, Vienna, Austria
E-mail: winfried.mayr@meduniwien.ac.at

Myology of Aging

Christiaan Leeuwenburgh
Department of Aging and Geriatric Research, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA
E-mail: cleeuwen@ufl.edu

Helmut Kern
Physiko-und Rheumatherapie, St. Poelten, Austria
E-mail: helmut@kern-reha.at

History and Future of Mobility Medicine

Giorgio Fanò Illic
Alcatraz Free University, Perugia, Italy
E-mail: fanoillic@gmail.com

Marina Bouchè
Department of Anatomy, Histology, Forensic Medicine and Orthopedics, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
E-mail: marina.bouche@uniroma1.it

Patrizia Mecocci
Department of Medicine, Institute of Gerontology and Geraitrics, University of Perugia, Italy
E-mail: patrizia.mecocci@unipg.it

Mobility Medicine, Diagnostics and Managements

Giuseppe Messina
Department of Psychology, Educational Science and Human Movement, University of Palermo, Italy
E-mail: giuseppe.messina17@unipa.it

Nejc Sarabon
Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Primorska, Slovenia
E-mail: nejc.sarabon@fvz.upr.si

Advisors

Mauro Alaibac
Department of Medicine, Section of Dermatology Clinic, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: mauro.alaibac@unipd.it

Giovanna Albertin
Department of Neuroscience, Institute of Human Anatomy, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: giovanna.albertin@unipd.it

Paola Arslan
Department of Medicine and Surgery, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: paola.arslan@unipd.it

Elisabeth R. Barton
Department of Applied Physiology and Kynesiology, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA
E-mail: erbarton@ufl.edu

Manfred Bijak
Center for Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, Medical University of Vienna, Austria
E-mail: Manfred.Bijak@meduniwien.ac.at

Simona Boncompagni
Faculty of Medicine, University “G. D'Annunzio”, Chieti, Italy
E-mail: s.boncompagni@unich.it

Fabrizio Bruschi
Department of Translational Research and New Technologies in Medicine, University of Pisa, Italy
E-mail: fabrizio.bruschi@med.unipi.it

Bruce M. Carlson
Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA
E-mail: brcarl@umich.edu

Carmelo Chisari
Department of Translational Research and New Technologies in Medicine, University of Pisa, Italy
E-mail: carmelo.chisari@unipi.it

Kyle Edmunds
Department of Biomedical and Neural Engineering, Reykjavík University, Iceland
E-mail: kyle14@ru.is

Karyn Esser
Department of Physiology and Functional Genomics, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA
E-mail: kaesser@ufl.edu

Fabio Francini
University of Florence, Italy
E-mail: fabio.francini@unifi.it

Clara Franzini-Armstrong
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, USA
E-mail: armstroc@mail.med.upenn.edu

Tessa Gordon
Department of Surgery, Division of Plastic Reconstructive Surgery, The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, ON, Canada
E-mail: tessat.gordon@gmail.com

Thórdur Helgason
Department of Research and Development, Landspitali University Hospital, Reykjavik, Iceland
E-mail: thordur@landspitali.is

Christian Hofer
Ludwig Boltzmann Institute of Electrical Stimulation and Physical Rehabilitation, Vienna, Austria; Otto Bock Healthcare Products GmbH, Vienna, Austria
E-mail: christian.hofer@rehabilitationresearch.eu

Mohsen Khosravi
Department of Psychiatry and Clinical Psycholog, Zahedan University of Medical Sciences, Zahena, Iran
E-mail: m.khosravi@zaums.ac.ir

Hermann Lanmüller
Medical University of Vienna, Center for Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, Vienna, Austria
E-mail: hermann.Lanmueller@meduniwien.ac.at

Lars Larsson
Department of Physiology and Pharmacology, Karolinska Institut, Stockolm, Sweden
E-mail: lars.larsson@ki.se

Werner Lindenthaler
Med-El, Innsbruck, Austria
E-mail: werner.lindenthaler@medel.com

Stefan Loefler
Ludwig Boltzmann Institute of Electrical Stimulation and Physical Rehabilitation, Institute of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Wilhelminenspital, Vienna, Austria
E-mail: stefan.loefler@wienkav.at

Ekaterina V. Makarova
National Medical Research Center of Rehabilitation and Balneology of Health Minitry of Russia, Russian Federation
E-mail: baudolinoo@gmail.com

Andrea Marcante
Department of Neurorehabilitation, I.R.C.C.S. Fondazione Ospedale San Camillo, Venezia-Lido, Italy
E-mail: andrea.marcante@ospedalesancamillo.net

Ryoichi Matsuda
Department of Life Sciences, The University of Tokyo, Japan
E-mail: cmatsuda@mail.ecc.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Stefano Masiero
Department of Neurosciences, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: stef.masiero@unipd.it 

Aram Megighian
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: aram.megighian@unipd.it

Giuseppe Messina
Department of Psychology, Educational Science and Human Movement, University of Palermo, Italy
E-mail: giuseppe.messina17@unipa.it

Sara Missaglia
Department of Psychology, Catholic University of the Sacred Heart, Milan, Italy
E-mail: sara.missaglia@unicatt.it

Joseph Mizrahi
Department of Biomedical Engineering, Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel
E-mail: jm@bm.technion.ac.il 

Yosuke Nagata
Department of Life Science, Okayama University of Science, Japan
E-mail: nagata.yosuke@dls.ous.ac.jp

Ketan Patel
School of Biological Sciences, University of Reading, UK
E-mail: ketan.patel@reading.ac.uk

Marco Patruno
Department of Comparative Biomedicine and Food Science, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: marco.pat@unipd.it

Francesco Piccione
Department of Neurorehabilitation, I.R.C.C.S. Fondazione Ospedale San Camillo, Venezia-Lido, Italy
E-mail: francesco.piccione@ospedalesancamillo.net

Marzena Podhorska-Okolow
Department of Histology and Embryology, Medical University, Wroclaw, Poland
E-mail: mapod@hist.am.wroc.pl 

Amber Pond
Department of Anatomy, SIU School of Medicine, SIU Carbondale, IL, USA
E-mail: apond@siumed.edu

Marco B.L. Rocchi
Department of Biomolecular Sciences, Unit of Biostatistics, "Carlo Bo" University of Urbino, Italy
E-mail: marco.rocchi@uniurb.it

Carmelinda Ruggiero
Department of MEdicine, Institute of Gerontology and Geriatrics, University of Perugia, Italy
E-mail: carmelinda.ruggiero@unipg.it

Stanley Salmons
Department of Human Anatomy and Cell Biology, University of Liverpool, UK
E-mail: s.salmons@liverpool.ac.uk

Montserrat Samso
Department of Physiology and Biophysics, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA, USA
E-mail: msamso@vcu.edu

Bianca Maria Scicchitano
Institute of Histology and Embryology, Catholic University of Sacred Heart, Rome, Italy
E-mail: biancamaria.scicchitano@unicatt.it

Matthew Taylor
The University of Sydney Business School, Sydney, Australia
E-mail: mj.taylor.1290@gmail.com

Ewald Unger
Medical University of Vienna, Center for Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, Vienna, Austria
E-mail: ewald.unger@meduniwien.ac.at

Bathri Narayan Vajravelu
Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Boston, MA, USA
E-mail: bathri.vajravelu@mcphs.edu

Sandra G. Velleman
Department of Animal Sciences, Ohio State University, Wooster, OH, USA 
E-mail: velleman.1@osu.edu

Vincenzo Vindigni
Department of Neurosciences, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: vincenzo.vindigni@unipd.it

Libero Vitiello
Department of Biology, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: libero.vitiello@unipd.it

Gerta Vrbova
Department of Biosciences, University College London, UK
E-mail: g.vrbova@ucl.ac.uk

Mike Willand
Epineuron Technologies, Toronto, ON, Canada
E-mail: mwilland@epineurontech.com

Zipora Yablonka-Reuveni
Department of Biological Structure, University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle, WA, USA
E-mail: reuveni@u.washington.edu