Editorial Board

Editor-in-Chief

Ugo Carraro
Department of Neurorehabilitation, I.R.C.C.S., Fondazione Ospedale San Camillo
Venezia-Lido, Italy
ugo.carraro@unipd.it

Prof. Ugo Carraro is a Scientific Consultant at IRRCS Fondazione Ospedale San Camillo, Venice-Lido, Italy, and Senior Scholar of Padua University, Italy. There, he worked as Professor of General Pathology, Faculty of Medicine, and as Founder and Principal Investigator of the Laboratory of Translational Myology of the Interdepartmental Research Center of Myology – CIR-Myo. Recipient of many National and International Grants, Prof. Carraro is a world-class leader in molecular and structural analyses of skeletal muscle. He developed bi-dimensional gel electrophoresis for myosin light chains, in particular the embryonic isoform, and was the first to separate myosin heavy chain isoforms of mammal muscles. He discovered the long-term potential of denervated muscle to survive denervation by non-compensatory myofiber regeneration and the positive effects of sport life-style on reinnervation of old muscles. Expert of histochemical and ultrastructural morphometry of human skeletal muscle biopsies, he is applying his expertise in translational myology approaches by analyses of denervation-reinnervation and aged skeletal muscles. His main research interests are: basics of muscle plasticity and their applications to medical research (translational myology) in: i) functional electrical stimulation of denervated human muscle; ii) role of apoptosis and regenerative myogenesis in exercise-induced muscle damage. Prof. Carraro is Founder and Editor-in-Chief of the European Journal of Translational Myology (EJTM), previously known as Basic Applied Myology (BAM).

Section Editors

Myology Reviews

Sergio Adamo
Department of Anatomy, Histology, Forensic Medicine and Orthopedics, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
sergio.adamo@uniroma1.it

Muscle Genetics and Epigenetics

Davide Gabellini
Division of Genetics and Cell Biology, San Raffaele Scientific Institute, Milan, Italy
gabellini.davide@hsr.it

Viviana Moresi
Department of Anatomy, Histology, Forensic Medicine and Orthopedics, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
viviana.moresi@uniroma1.it

Muscle Genetic Disorders

Corrado Angelini
Department of Neurorehabilitation, I.R.C.C.S, Fondazione Ospedale San Camillo, Venezia-Lido, Italy
corrado.angelini@unipd.it

Daniela Tavian
Laboratory of Cellular Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Department of Psychology, Catholic University of the Sacred Heart, Milan, Italy
daniela.tavian@unicatt.it

Molecular Myology

Antonio Musarò
Department of Anatomy, Histology, Forensic Medicine and Orthopedics, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
antonio.musaro@uniroma1.it

Marco Sandri
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padua, Italy
marco.sandri@unipd.it

Cellular Myology

Dario Coletti
Department of Anatomy, Histology, Forensic Medicine and Orthopedics, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
dario.coletti@uniroma1.it

Sandra Zampieri
Department of Surgery, Oncology, and Gastroenterology, University of Padua, Italy
sanzamp@unipd.it

Physiology of Muscle and Mobility

Jonathan C. Jarvis
School of Sport & Exercise Sciences, Liverpool John Moores University, UK
J.C.Jarvis@ljmu.ac.uk

Carlo Reggiani
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padua, Italy
carlo.reggiani@unipd.it

Strength and Conditioning

Pedro E. Alcaraz
UCAM Research Center of High Performance Sport, San Antonio Catholic University of Murcia, Murcia, Spain
palcaraz@ucam.edu

Paulo Gentil
College of Physical Education and Dance, Federal University of Goias, Golania, Brazil
paulogentil@hotmail.com

Antonio Paoli
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padova, Italy
antonio.paoli@unipd.it

Physical Exercise, Muscle and Health

Tatiana Moro
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padova, Italy
tatiana.moro@unipd.it

Paula Tavares
Department of Sport Sciences and Physical Education, University of Coimbra, Portugal
tavaresc.paula@gmail.com

Biomedical Engineering for Translational Myology

Christine Azevedo Coste
INRIA, LIRMM, Montpellier, France
christine.azevedo@inria.fr

Paolo Gargiulo
Institute for Biomedal and Neural Engineering, Reykjavik University, Iceland, Department of Science, Landspitali University Hospital, Iceland
paologar@landspitali.is

Winfried Mayr
Medical University of Vienna, Center for Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, Vienna, Austria
winfried.mayr@meduniwien.ac.at

Aging: Biology, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Helmut Kern
Physiko- und Rheumatherapie, St. Poelten, Austria
helmut@kern-reha.at

Christiaan Leeuwenburgh
Department of Aging and Geriatric Research, University of Florida Gainesville, Gainesville, FL, USA
cleeuwen@ufl.edu

Stefano Masiero
Department of Neuroscience, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation School, University of Padua, Italy
stef.masiero@unipd.it

Mobility Medicine, History and Future

Marina Bouchè
Department of Anatomy, Histology, Forensic Medicine and Orthopedics, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
marina.bouche@uniroma1.it

Giorgio Fanò Illic
Alcatraz Free University, Perugia, Italy
fanoillic@gmail.com

Patrizia Mecocci
Department of Medicine, Institute of Gerontology and Geriatrics, University of Perugia, Italy
patrizia.mecocci@unipg.it

Mobility Medicine, Diagnostics and Managements

Giuseppe Messina
Department of Psychology, Educational Science and Human Movement, University of Palermo, Italy
giuseppe.messina17@unipa.it

Nejc Sarabon
Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Primorska, Slovenia
nejc.sarabon@fvz.upr.si

Shantanu Sinha
Department of Radiology, University of California San Diego, San Diego, CA, USA
shsinha@ucsd.edu

Advisors

Mauro Alaibac
Department of Medicine, Section of Dermatology Clinic, University of Padova, Italy
mauro.alaibac@unipd.it

Giovanna Albertin
Department of Neuroscience, Institute of Human Anatomy, University of Padova, Italy
giovanna.albertin@unipd.it

Paola Arslan
Department of Medicine, University of Padua, Italy
paola.arslan@unipd.it

Elisabeth R. Barton
Department of Applied Physiology and Kinesiology, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA
erbarton@ufl.edu

Manfred Bijak
Center for Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, Medical University of Vienna, Austria
Manfred.Bijak@meduniwien.ac.at

Simona Boncompagni
Faculty of Medicine, University “G. D'Annunzio”, Chieti, Italy
simona.boncompagni@unich.it

Bruce M. Carlson
Department of Anatomy & Cell Biology, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA
brcarl@umich.edu

Carmelo Chisari
Department of Translational Research and New Technologies in Medicine, University of Pisa, Italy
c.chisari@ao-pisa.toscana.it

Kyle Edmunds
Department of Biomedical and Neural Engineering, Reykjavík University, Reykjavík, Iceland
kylejedmunds@gmail.com

Karyn Esser
Department of Physiology and Functional Genomics, Gainesville, FL, USA
kaesser@ufl.edu

Clara Franzini-Armstrong
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, USA
armstroc@mail.med.upenn.edu

Tessa Gordon
Department of Surgery, Division of Plastic Reconstructive Surgery, The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, ON, Canada
tessat.gordon@gmail.com

Thórdur Helgason
Department of Research and Development, Landspitali University Hospital, Reykjavik, Iceland
thordur@landspitali.is

Christian Hofer
Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Rehabilitation Research, St. Poelten, Austria
christian.hofer@rehabilitation.lbg.ac.at

David Israeli
Progressive Muscular Dystrophy unit, Genethon research institute, Paris-Saclay University, INSERM UMR_S951, Evry, France
israeli@genethon.fr

Mohsen Khosravi
Department of Psychiatry and Clinical Psychology, Zahedan University of Medical Sciences, Zahedan, Iran
m.khosravi@zaums.ac.ir

Hermann Lanmüller
Medical University of Vienna, Center for Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, Vienna, Austria
hermann.Lanmueller@meduniwien.ac.at

Lars Larsson
Department of Physiology and Pharmacology, Karolinska Institut, Stockolm, Sweden
lars.larsson@ki.se

Werner Lindenthaler
Med-El, Innsbruck, Austria
werner.lindenthaler@medel.com

Stefan Loefler
Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Rehabilitation Research, St. Poelten, Austria
stefan.loefler@rehabilitation.lbg.ac.at

Ekaterina V Makarova
National Research Institute of Public Health n.a. N.А. Semashko, Moscow, Russia
baudolinoo@gmail.com

Andrea Marcante
UOC Recovery and Functional Rehabilitation, Lonigo Hospital, Azienda ULSS 8 Berica, Lonigo, Italy
andrea.marcante@aulss8.veneto.it

Lorenzo Marcucci
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padua, Italy
lorenzo.marcucci@unipd.it

Ryoichi Matsuda
Department of Science Education, Tokyo University of Science, Tokyo, Japan
cmatsuda1952@gmail.com

Aram Megighian
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padua, Italy
aram.megighian@unipd.it

Sara Missaglia
Laboratory of Cellular Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Department of Psychology, Catholic University of the Sacred Heart, Milan, Italy
sara.missaglia@unicatt.it

Joseph Mizrahi
Department of Biomedical Engineering, Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel
jm@bm.technion.ac.il

Alfredo Musumeci
Physical medicine and rehabilitation School, Neuroscience Department, Padova University, Italy
alfredomusumeci@yahoo.com

Yosuke Nagata
Department of Life Science, Okayama University of Science
nagata.yosuke@dls.ous.ac.jp

Marco Narici
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padua, Italy
marco.narici@unipd.it

Kay Ohlendieck
Department of Biology, Maynooth University, National University of Ireland, Maynooth, Co. Kildare, Ireland
Kay.Ohlendieck@mu.ie

Ketan Patel
School of Biological Sciences, University of Reading, UK
ketan.patel@reading.ac.uk

Marco Patruno
Department of Comparative Biomedicine and Food Science, University of Padua, Italy
marco.pat@unipd.it

Francesco Piccione
Department of Neurosciences, Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine, University of Padua, Italy
francesco.piccione@aopd.veneto.it

Marzena Podhorska-Okolow
Dept. Histology and Embryology, Medical University, Wroclaw, Poland
mapod@hist.am.wroc.pl

Amber Pond
Department of Anatomy, SIU School of Medicine, SIU Carbondale, IL, USA
apond@siumed.edu

Andrey Rachin
National Medical Research Center of Rehabilitation and Balneology of Health Ministry of Russia
RachinAP@nmicrk.ru

Marco B.L. Rocchi
Department of Biomolecular Sciences, Unit of Biostatistics, "Carlo Bo" University of Urbino, Italy
marco.rocchi@uniurb.it

Carmelinda Ruggiero
Department of Medicine, Institute of Gerontology and Geriatrics, University of Perugia, Italy
carmelinda.ruggiero@unipg.it

Stanley Salmons
Department of Musculoskeletal Biology II, Institute of Ageing & Chronic Diseases, Faculty of Health & Life Sciences, University of Liverpool. UK
s.salmons@liverpool.ac.uk

Montserrat Samso
Department of Physiology and Biophysics, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA, USA
msamso@vcu.edu

Sheila Schils
aEquiNew Therapy LLC, River Falls, WI, USA

sbschils@EquiNew.com

Bianca Maria Scicchitano
Institute of Histology and Embryology, Catholic University of Sacred Heart, Rome, Italy
biancamaria.scicchitano@unicatt.it

Usha Sinha
Department of Physics, San Diego State University, San Diego, CA, USA
usinha@sdsu.edu

Olga Surdu
Balneal and Rehabilitation Sanatorium of Techirghiol, Ovidius University of Constanta, Constanta County, Romania
olga.surdu@yahoo.com

Matthew Taylor
The University of Sydney Business School, Sydney, Australia
mj.taylor.1290@gmail.com

Lucrezia Tognolo
Department of Neurosciences, Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine, University of Padua, Italy
lucrezia.tognolo@unipd.it

Ewald Unger
Medical University of Vienna, Center for Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, Vienna, Austria
ewald.unger@meduniwien.ac.at

Bathri Narayan Vajravelu
Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Boston, MA, USA
bathri.vajravelu@mcphs.edu

Sandra G. Velleman
Department of Animal Sciences, Ohio State University, Wooster, OH, USA
velleman.1@osu.edu

Vincenzo Vindigni
Department of Neurosciences, Section of Plastic Surgery, University of Padova, Italy
vincenzo.vindigni@unipd.it

Mike Willand
Epineuron Technologies, Toronto, ON, Canada
mwilland@epineurontech.com

Zipora Yablonka-Reuveni
Department of Biological Structure, University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle, WA, USA
reuveni@u.washington.edu