Editorial Board

Editor-in-Chief

Ugo Carraro
Department of Neurorehabilitation, I.R.C.C.S., Fondazione Ospedale San Camillo, Venezia-Lido, Italy
E-mail: ugo.carraro@unipd.it

Prof. Ugo Carraro is a Scientific Consultant at IRRCS Fondazione Ospedale San Camillo, Venice-Lido, Italy, and Senior Scholar of Padua University, Italy. There, he worked as Professor of General Pathology, Faculty of Medicine, and as Founder and Principal Investigator of the Laboratory of Translational Myology of the Interdepartmental Research Center of Myology – CIR-Myo. Recipient of many National and International Grants, Prof. Carraro is a world-class leader in molecular and structural analyses of skeletal muscle. He developed bi-dimensional gel electrophoresis for myosin light chains, in particular the embryonic isoform, and was the first to separate myosin heavy chain isoforms of mammal muscles. He discovered the long-term potential of denervated muscle to survive denervation by non-compensatory myofiber regeneration and the positive effects of sport life-style on reinnervation of old muscles. Expert of histochemical and ultrastructural morphometry of human skeletal muscle biopsies, he is applying his expertise in translational myology approaches by analyses of denervation-reinnervation and aged skeletal muscles. His main research interests are: basics of muscle plasticity and their applications to medical research (translational myology) in: i) functional electrical stimulation of denervated human muscle; ii) role of apoptosis and regenerative myogenesis in exercise-induced muscle damage. Prof. Carraro is Founder and Editor-in-Chief of the European Journal of Translational Myology (EJTM), previously known as Basic Applied Myology (BAM).

 

Editors 

Myology Reviews

Sergio Adamo
Department of Anatomy, Histology, Forensic Medicine and Orthopedics, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
E-mail:sergio.adamo@uniroma1.it 


Epigenetics, Genetics and Muscle Genetic Diseases

Corrado Angelini 
Department of Neurorehabilitation, I.R.C.C.S, Fondazione Ospedale San Camillo, Venezia-Lido, Italy
E-mail: corrado.angelini@unipd.it 

Daniela Tavian  
Department of Psychology, Catholic University of the Sacred Heart, Milan, Italy
E-mail: daniela.tavian@unicatt.it 

Viviana Moresi  
Department of Anatomy, Histology, Forensic Medicine and Orthopedics, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
E-mail: Viviana.moresi@uniroma1.it 


Molecular Myology 

Antonio Musarò 
Department of Anatomy, Histology, Forensic Medicine and Orthopedics, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
E-mail: antonio.musaro@uniroma1.it 

Marco Sandri 
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: marco.sandri@unipd.it 


Cellular Myology 

Carlo Reggiani 
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: carlo.reggiani@unipd.it 

Dario Coletti
Department of Anatomy, Histology, Forensic Medicine and Orthopedics, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
E-mail: dario.coletti@uniroma1.it 

Ruediger Rudolf
Mannheim University of Applied Sciences, University of Heidelberg, Germany
E-mail: r.rudolf@hs-mannheim.de 


Strength and Conditioning/Physical Exercise

Antonio Paoli
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: antonio.paoli@unipd.it 

Pedro E. Alcarez
UCAM Research Center of High Performance Sport, San Antonio Catholic University of Murcia, Murcia, Spain
E-mail: palcaraz@ucam.edu 

Paulo Gentil
College of Physical Education and Dance, Federal University of Goias, Golania, Brazil
E-mail: paulogentil@hotmail.com 


Biomedical Engineering for Translational Myology

Christine Azevedo Coste
Laboratoire d'Informatique, de Robotique et de Microélectronique de Montpellier, France
E-mail: christine.azevedo@inria.fr

Che Fornusek
Faculty of Health Sciences, The University of Sydney, Sydney, Australia
E-mail: che.fornusek@sydney.edu.au

Winfried Mayr
Medical University of Vienna, Center for Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, Vienna, Austria
E-mail: winfried.mayr@meduniwien.ac.at 

Paolo Gargiulo
Department of Research and Development, Landspitali University Hospital, Reykjavik, Iceland
E-mail: paologar@landspitali.is 


Translational Myology and Myology of Aging

Jonathan C. Jarvis
School of Sport and Exercise Sciences, Liverpool John Moores University, UK
E-mail: J.C.Jarvis@ljmu.ac.uk 

Helmut Kern 
Ludwig Boltzmann Institute of Electrostimulation and Physical Rehabilitation, Vienna, Austria 
E-mail: helmut@kern-reha.at 

Christiaan Leeuwenburgh
Department of Aging and Geriatric Research, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA
E-mail: cleeuwen@ufl.edu 


Advisors 

Paola Arslan 
Department of Medicine and Surgery, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: paola.arslan@unipd.it 

Elisabeth R. Barton
Department of Applied Physiology and Kynesiology, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA
E-mail: erbarton@ufl.edu 

Manfred Bijak
Center for Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, Medical University of Vienna, Austria
E-mail: Manfred.Bijak@meduniwien.ac.at 

Simona Boncompagni 
Faculty of Medicine, University “G. D'Annunzio”, Chieti, Italy
E-mail: s.boncompagni@unich.it 

Fabrizio Bruschi 
Department of Translational Research and New Technologies in Medicine, University of Pisa, Italy
E-mail: fabrizio.bruschi@med.unipi.it 

Bruce M. Carlson 
Department of Anatomy & Cell Biology, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA
E-mail: brcarl@umich.edu 

Carmelo Chisari 
Department of Translational Research and New Technologies in Medicine, University of Pisa, Italy
E-mail: c.chisari@ao-pisa.toscana.it 

Kyle Edmunds
Department of Biomedical and Neural Engineering, Reykjavík University, Iceland
E-mail: kyle14@ru.is 

Karyn Esser
Department of Physiology and Functional Genomics, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA
E-mail: kaesser@ufl.edu 

Giorgio Fanò 
Department of Neurosciences and Imaging, University “G. D'Annunzio”, Chieti, Italy
E-mail: fanoillic@gmail.com 

Fabio Francini 
University of Florence, Italy
E-mail: fabio.francini@unifi.it 

Clara Franzini-Armstrong 
Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, USA
E-mail: armstroc@mail.med.upenn.edu 

Tessa Gordon 
Department of Surgery, Division of Plastic Reconstructive Surgery, The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, ON, Canada
E-mail: tessat.gordon@gmail.com 

Said Hashemolhosseini
Institute of Biochemistry, Medical Faculty, Friedrich-Alexander University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, Erlangen, Germany
E-mail: said.hashemolhosseini@fau.de 

Thórdur Helgason 
Department of Research and Development, Landspitali University Hospital, Reykjavik, Iceland
E-mail: thordur@landspitali.is 

Christian Hofer 
Ludwig Boltzmann Institute of Electrical Stimulation and Physical Rehabilitation, Vienna, Austria; Otto Bock Healthcare Products GmbH, Vienna, Austria
E-mail: Christian.hofer@wienkav.at 

Anna Jakubiec-Puka 
Nencki Institute of Experimental Biology, Warsaw, Poland 
E-mail: annajakubiec@o2.pl 

Hermann Lanmüller
Medical University of Vienna, Center for Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, Vienna, Austria
E-mail: hermann.Lanmueller@meduniwien.ac.at 

Lars Larsson
Department of Physiology and Pharmacology, Karolinska Institut, Stockolm, Sweden
E-mail: lars.larsson@ki.se 

Werner Lindenthaler
Med-El, Innsbruck, Austria
E-mail: werner.lindenthaler@medel.com 

Stefan Loefler 
Ludwig Boltzmann Institute of Electrical Stimulation and Physical Rehabilitation, Institute of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Wilhelminenspital, Vienna, Austria 
E-mail: stefan.loefler@wienkav.at 

Ryoichi Matsuda 
Department of Life Sciences, The University of Tokyo, Japan 
E-mail: cmatsuda@mail.ecc.u-tokyo.ac.jp 

Stefano Masiero 
Department of Neurosciences, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: stef.masiero@unipd.it 

Aram Megighian
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: aram.megighian@unipd.it 

Joseph Mizrahi 
Department of Biomedical Engineering, Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel 
E-mail: jm@bm.technion.ac.il 

Marco Narici 
University of Nottingham, Division of Medical Sciences, Centre of Excellence for Musculoskeletal Ageing Research, Derby Royal Hospital, UK
E-mail: marco.narici@nottingham.ac.uk 

Antonio Paoli 
Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: antonio.paoli@unipd.it 

Ketan Patel 
School of Biological Sciences, University of Reading, UK 
E-mail: ketan.patel@reading.ac.uk 

Marco Patruno 
Department of Comparative Biomedicine and Food Science, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: marco.pat@unipd.it 

Francesco Piccione
Department of Neurorehabilitation, I.R.C.C.S. Fondazione Ospedale San Camillo, Venezia-Lido, Italy
E-mail: francesco.piccione@ospedalesancamillo.net

Marzena Podhorska-Okolow 
Department of Histology and Embryology, Medical University, Wroclaw, Poland 
E-mail: mapod@hist.am.wroc.pl 

Amber Pond 
Department of Anatomy, SIU School of Medicine, SIU Carbondale, IL, USA 
E-mail: apond@siumed.edu 

Tomasz J. Prószyński
Laboratory of Synaptogenesis, Nencki Institute of Experimental Biology, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland
E-mail: t.proszynski@nencki.gov.pl 

Marco B.L. Rocchi
Department of Biomolecular Sciences, Unit of Biostatistics, "Carlo Bo" University of Urbino, Italy
E-mail: marco.rocchi@uniurb.it 

Stanley Salmons 
Department of Human Anatomy and Cell Biology, University of Liverpool, UK 
E-mail: s.salmons@liverpool.ac.uk 

Montserrat Samso
Department of Physiology and Biophysics, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA, USA
E-mail: msamso@vcu.edu 

Ewald Unger
Medical University of Vienna, Center for Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, Vienna, Austria
E-mail: ewald.unger@meduniwien.ac.at 

Sandra G. Velleman 
Department of Animal Sciences, Ohio State University, Wooster, OH, USA 
E-mail: velleman.1@osu.edu 

Vincenzo Vindigni 
Department of Neurosciences, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: vincenzo.vindigni@unipd.it 

Libero Vitiello 
Department of Biology, University of Padua, Italy
E-mail: libero.vitiello@unipd.it 

Gerta Vrbova 
Department of Biosciences, University College London, UK 
E-mail: g.vrbova@ucl.ac.uk 

Mike Willand
Department of Surgery, Division of Plastic Reconstructive Surgery, The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, ON, Canada
E-mail: mike.willand@gmail.com 

Zipora Yablonka-Reuveni 
Department of Biological Structure, University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle, WA, USA 
E-mail: reuveni@u.washington.edu 

Sandra Zampieri 
Laboratory of Translation Myology, Department of Biomedical Sciences, University of Padua, Italy; Ludwig Boltzmann Institute of Electrical Stimulation and Physical Rehabilitation, Vienna, Austria
E-mail: sanzamp@unipd.it 


 
© PAGEPress 2008-2017     -     PAGEPress is a registered trademark property of PAGEPress srl, Italy.     -     VAT: IT02125780185